• Proteas bat first

    UAE captain Mohammad Tauqir has won the toss and asked the Proteas to bat in their final Pool B match in Wellington.

    The decision will have come as a surprise, given the quality of South Africa’s batting lineup and their strength when batting first. At the toss, Tauqir said it was a good wicket to bowl on, and that he felt UAE could put the Proteas under pressure.

    The Proteas have been forced to make a change due to Faf du Plessis’s injury. Fahraan Behardien comes into the team, and will bat at No 7. Quinton de Kock retains his place, while Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers, David Miller, and JP Duminy all shift one position up in the order.

    The only other change sees Vernon Philander coming in for Kyle Abbott. Philander has not played since the second pool match against India due to a hamstring injury.

    South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers (c), David Miller, JP Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morné Morkel, Imran Tahir

    UAE: Amjad Ali, Andri Raffaelo Berenger, Khurram Khan, Shaiman Anwar, Swapnil Patil (wk), Saqlain Haider, Amjad Javed, Mohammad Naveed, Mohammad Tauqir (c), Fahad Alhashmi, Kamran Shazad