• Pillay puts controversy behind him

    SA U19 batsman Jiveshan Pillay says his controversial dismissal against the West Indies was within ‘the laws of the game’. 

    Pillay was on 47 and South Africa on 77-2 in the 17th over of their U19 World Cup match, when he blocked a delivery.

    The ball rolled back and stopped near the stumps, whereupon Pillay picked it up and threw it to the keeper, Emmanuel Stewart, who appealed for obstruction. After a long discussion, the on-field umpires went upstairs and Pillay was ruled ‘out’.

    While the West Indies were heavily criticised for the ‘unsporting’ dismissal, Pillay wasn’t too bothered.

    ‘It’s in the laws of the game and that is fine,’ he told SACricketmag.com. ‘We have moved past it, as a player and as a team. There’s no point in wasting energy looking back on it. It happened and it is done.’

    ALSO READ: SA U19s to seize the moment

    Pillay made 67 in South Africa’s opening match against Kenya and then that 47 against the West Indies. However, he was far from satisfied.

    ‘It’s a bit disappointing to get numbers like those. As a batsman, you pride yourself on converting those starts into big scores to help the team.’

    Pillay says the Baby Proteas are pleased to have won their first two matches but eager to improve as the tournament progresses.

    ‘We have played very well. The boys are calm and relaxed, but also very excited about the opportunity to move forward in the competition.’

    South Africa will play hosts New Zealand in Mount Maunganui on Saturday in a match that will decide who tops Group A.

    Post by

    Joel Carew