• Opportunity to mix it up

    We preview the third ODI between South Africa and Zimbabwe taking place in Bulawayo on Thursday, 21 August at 9:30am.

    With the series wrapped up, the Proteas must use the third and final ODI in their series against Zimbabwe to blood some new talent. Hashim Amla has already been sent home to rest, which means Rilee Rossouw will get his debut for the national side, while Marchant de Lange and Mthokozisi Shesi should also be given a run.

    That means Kyle Abbott and either Imran Tahir or Aaron Phangiso could miss out in this game, but none of those players will feel aggrieved given they’ve all played both fixtures so far, and for Tahir it will be an opportunity to rest ahead of the triangular series, where he should be a regular feature.

    Aside from giving the new boys a run, this game is an opportunity for the likes of AB de Villiers and JP Duminy to spend some time at the crease, with the former, in particular, in need of an extended knock. His unfortunate run-out in the second ODI will be stuck in his head, and he will certainly want to make amends for that moment of madness by contributing a big score on Thursday.

    Zimbabwe’s top order have failed twice in this series, and one of their stalwarts, Brendan Taylor has suffered from an unusual lack of form. With scores of 6 and 14 so far, he will want to put his stamp on the series before the triangular fixtures begin.

    All eyes will be on debutant Rilee Rossouw for the Proteas. He’s been in good form for SA A, and a solid outing in his first game will see him pencilled into the squad for the next few months. It’s a golden opportunity for him to get some international experience ahead of a long ODI season leading up to the World Cup in 2015.

    More of the same. Zimbabwe have shown they are not anywhere near the standard of the Proteas, and even with a host of reserve players in the team, South Africa should triumph to make it a 3-0 clean sweep.

    Zimbabwe –
    Elton Chigumbura (c), Sikandar Raza, Luke Jongwe, Tafadzwa Kamungozi, Neville Madziva, Timycen Maruma, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingi Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, John Nyumbu, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller, Sean Williams.

    South Africa – AB de Villiers (c), Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Rilee Rossouw, Mthokozisi Shezi.

    Photo: CSA

    Post by

    Dan Gillespie