• Notts Vitality Blast champions

    Nottinghamshire are the 2020 Vitality Blast champions after beating Surrey by six wickets in a rain-affected final at Edgbaston on Sunday.

    With finals day already moved on to its reserve day due to heavy Birmingham rain on Saturday, Surrey beat Gloucestershire in the first semi-final, before Nottinghamshire got the better of Dane Vilas’ Lancashire by five wickets.

    It meant an exciting showdown awaited as Notts and Surrey went head to head in a 16-over aside game for the final on Sunday evening.

    READ: CSA releases summary of forensic report

    Notts skipper Dan Christian won the toss and elected to field first as they made early inroads with the big wicket of Hashim Amla for only three.

    Amal’s opening partner, Jason Roy, kicked on, though, and struck a good half-century as Surrey posted Notts a target of 128 for victory in their 16 overs.

    However, their run chase got off to the worst possible start when Alex Hales departed with the very first delivery before Joe Clarke followed him to the pavillion in the very next over, as Notts slumped to 19-3 with the wicket of Samit Patel as well.

    Ben Duckett did well to recover his side’s innings and a handy partnership with Peter Trego brought Notts right back into the contest.

    Duckett raced to 53 off 38 deliveries, while Christian struck a few big blows towards the end of the innings to help get his side over the line to hand Notts their second title in four years.


    Post by

    Andre Huisamen