• No ICC awards for Proteas men

    Women’s cricketers Lizelle Lee and Shabnim Ismail were South Africa’s only winners at the International Cricket Council awards this week.

    Batter Lee and seamer Ismail were named in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year.

    ‘On behalf of the ICC, I would like to congratulate all of the individual 2019 award winners as well as those players named in the ICC Teams of the Year,’ said ICC chief executive officer Manu Sawhney.

    New magazine issue: Why De Kock must bat at four

    England’s Ben Stokes, Australia’s Pat Cummins and India’s Rohit Sharma were named Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and ODI Cricketer of the Year, respectively.

    ‘The awards celebrate the world’s best cricketers and this has undoubtedly been an extraordinary year for men’s cricket. The highlight, of course, was the ICC men’s Cricket World Cup 2019 that ended in such dramatic fashion,’ added Sawhney.

    ‘Ben was, of course, in the midst of all the action during the event from that quite incredible catch at The Oval right through to that epic final at Lord’s and is a very deserving winner.’

    Australian batsman Marnus Labuschagne won the Men’s Emerging Player of the Year award. Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer was named Associate Player of the Year. Labuschagne and Coetzer have South African roots.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by