• Neesham back, Latham rested

    Fast bowler Doug Bracewell and all-rounder James Neesham have been recalled to New Zealand’s squad for next year’s ODI series against Sri Lanka.

    Uncapped wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Seifert has also been included, while opener Tom Latham and all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme have been rested.

    ‘Doug and Jimmy have performed well on the domestic scene and showed during the recent New Zealand A series against India A that they’re ready for international cricket,’ said selector Gavin Larsen said.

    ‘Tim’s also been rewarded for his strong New Zealand A form and we’ve been impressed by the development of his all-round game.

    ‘We want to win the one-day series against Sri Lanka, and we want to gain as much new information as possible while doing so.’

    Spinning all-rounder Mitchell Santner, meanwhile, has returned to competitive cricket after a knee injury sidelined him for nine months.

    ‘Mitchell made a promising return in the Super Smash over the weekend and we’ll continue to monitor his progress closely,’ added Larsen.

    ODI squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Colin Munro, James Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

    Post by