• Name change for Delhi Daredevils; now Capitals

    The Delhi Daredevils have been renamed the Delhi Capitals ahead of the 2019 Indian Premier League.

    Delhi have participated in all 11 editions of the IPL since its inception in 2008, but have never won a title. They finished last in the 2018 tournament – and also in three previous years.

    They have recruited several South African players in the past, including fast bowler Kagiso Rabada, all-rounder Chris Morris, wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock, batsman AB de Villiers, seamer Junior Dala and others.

    Former Proteas batsman Gary Kirsten was Delhi’s head coach in 2014 and 2015.

    They have released several stars ahead of next month’s player auction, including Australian duo Dan Christian and Glenn Maxwell, Indian pair Gautam Gambhir and Mohammed Shami, and Englishmen Jason Roy and Liam Plunkett.

    Former Sunrisers Hyderabad batsman Shikhar Dhawan has joined Delhi for next year’s competition.

    ‘I can’t wait to get started. This team has a promising core and loves the game as much as every cricketing fanatic does,’ said Delhi assistant coach Mohammad Kaif.

    Retained: Shreyas Iyer, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant, Manjot Kalra, Colin Munro, Chris Morris, Jayant Yadav, Rahul Tewatia, Harshal Patel, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Trent Boult, Sandeep Lamichhane and Avesh Khan.

    Released: Gautam Gambhir, Jason Roy, Gurkeerat Mann, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Shami, Dan Christian, Sayan Ghosh, Liam Plunkett, Junior Dala, Naman Ojha.

    Traded: Vijay Shankar, Abhishek Sharma and Shahbaz Nadeem.

    Photo: Getty

    Post by