• Morris, Miller released by IPL franchises

    Several South Africans have been released from franchise contracts ahead of next year’s Indian Premier League.

    The Delhi Capitals have retained fast bowler Kagiso Rabada, but parted ways with all-rounder Chris Morris and batsman Colin Ingram. The franchise used to be called the Delhi Daredevils, prior to this year’s name change.

    The Kings XI Punjab have released batsman David Miller, but kept fast bowler Hardus Viljoen.

    Fast bowler Anrich Nortje has left the Kolkata Knight Riders. He was recruited for the 2019 IPL, but didn’t play due to injury.

    Also see: Pretorius among South Africans in T10

    Left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks was a late addition to the Mumbai Indians squad earlier this year, but has not been retained. Mumbai, who are the reigning champions, have kept wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, though.

    The Royal Challengers Bangalore have released fast bowler Dale Steyn and wicketkeeper-batsman Heinrich Klaasen, but kept former Proteas captain AB de Villiers. Klaasen is captaining the Tshwane Spartans in the ongoing Mzansi Super League in South Afrca. De Villiers held the role during last year’s inaugural MSL.

    The Chennai Super Kings have retained batsman Faf du Plessis, leg-spinner Imran Tahir and fast bowler Lungi Ngidi. England duo David Willey and Sam Billings, however, have been released by the Super Kings.

    Photo: Getty Images

    Post by