• Moroe pins commercial strategy on MSL

    Chief executive officer Thabang Moroe has reiterated the importance of the Mzansi Super League for Cricket South Africa’s commercial strategy.

    While the T20 Challenge will be terminated, and the franchise system exchanged for provincial competition next year, the Mzansi Super League will continue.

    The tournament, which features franchises Jozi Stars, Durban Heat, Tshwane Spartans, Nelson Mandela Bay Giants, Cape Town Blitz and Paarl Rocks, was inaugurated late last year. The Stars won the maiden title after beating the Blitz in the final.

    ‘Franchise cricket has been a huge burden to CSA’s coffers. We are pinning most of our work and commercial strategy on the Mzansi Super League to be the programme that is actually going to fund domestic cricket,’ said Moroe.

    The Lions, Cape Cobras, Knights, Dolphins, Warriors and Titans will effectively be replaced by Gauteng, Western Province, Free State, KwaZulu-Natal, Border, Northerns and others in first-class and List A competition.

    Limpopo and Mpumalanga will likely join the 12 other provincial teams in 2022.

    ‘We have a three-phased process where we will see Cricket South Africa go back to 12 provinces, and we plan in the third year to either have Limpopo, Mpumalanga, or both to become part of the first-class structure, which will take us to the 14-member competition,’ added Moroe.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by