• De Kock, Gibbs, AB record broken

    South Africans Quinton de Kock, Herschelle Gibbs and AB de Villiers – alongside Pakistani’s Zaheer Abbas and Saeed Anwar and New Zealand’s Ross Taylor – no longer jointly hold the record for the most consecutive ODI centuries.

    Sri Lankan Kumar Sangakkara, who has struck four successive tons during the ongoing World Cup in Australasia, is now the lone recipient of the feat.

    Sri Lanka beat Scotland by 148 runs on Wednesday and will face South Africa in the quarter-finals.

    Sangakkara has gathered 105 not out, 117 not out, 104 and 124 against Bangladesh, England, Australia and Scotland in Melbourne, Wellington, Sydney and Hobart respectively this month.

    Gibbs managed three on the trot against Kenya, India and Bangladesh, in 2002, but was denied a fourth by five leg-side wides to finish on 97 not out against the Tigers.

    De Villiers’ three in three came against India and the West Indies in 2010, while de Kock matched the achievement against the Indians toward the end of 2013.