• India opt to bat

    MS Dhoni has won the toss and decided to bat in the match against South Africa at the MCG.

    At the toss, AB de Villiers admitted that he too would have preferred to bat on this wicket. However, the Proteas captain remained confident that the South Africans have what it takes to limit the Indians and chase down a target.

    India have retained the same team that beat Pakistan in their first match. The big news for South Africa is that both Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander have been passed fit, after being in doubt earlier in the week.

    The only change to the Proteas lineup sees Wayne Parnell coming in for Fahraan Behardien to beef up the South African’s bowling attack.

    India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c/wk), Ravi Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohit Sharma

    South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), David Miller, JP Duminy, Vernon Philander, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Morné Morkel, Imran Tahir