• Hope ton to no avail as Tigers take series

    Opening batsman Shai Hope’s century went in vain as the West Indies sunk to an eight-wicket defeat – and two-one series loss – in Friday’s third ODI against Bangladesh at the Sylhet international cricket stadium.

    Hope, who amassed an unbeaten 146 in the second ODI earlier this week, struck 108 not out in a final total of 198 for nine. His stay featured nine fours and a six, but lacked support. Off-spinner Mehidy Hasan, who was afforded the new ball alongside fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman, was the pick of the bowlers with telling figures of four for 29.

    Only three other visiting batsmen managed 10 or more, leaving the hosts a relatively straightforward task. Bangladesh batsmen Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar promptly obliged during a dominant 131-run alliance en route to triumph with 69 deliveries to spare. Sarkar gathered 80 to Iqbal’s 81 not out.

    The teams will meet for three T20Is until 22 December. The Windies have recalled batsman Evin Lewis, and Kesrick Williams and Sheldon Cottrell.

    All-rounders Andre Russell and Kieron Pollard, seamer Obed McCoy and spinner Ashley Nurse were not considered due to injury.

    West Indies T20I squad: Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, Fabian Allen, Kesrick Williams, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Evin Lewis, Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin, Shai Hope, Sherfane Rutherford, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas.


    Photo: Getty

    Post by