• Hendricks starts, SA bowl first

    The Proteas lost the toss and will bowl first in the third ODI against Pakistan at SuperSport Park.

    An interesting contest is expected to be on the cards in the third ODI between the Proteas and Pakistan.

    With the five-match series level at 1-1, the aim will be for both teams to take an advantage into the Pinkday ODI at the Wanderers.

    The Proteas’ spirits will undoubtedly be boosted by the return of Quinton de Kock and Dale Steyn, who were rested for the opening two ODIs.

    ALSO READ: Preview: Proteas vs Pakistan (3rd ODI)

    The Proteas made three changes to their side that played against Pakistan in Durban. Dale Steyn, Quinton de Kock and Beuran Hendricks were selected to replace Duanne Olivier, Heinrich Klaasen and Dane Paterson.

    This means that Reeza Hendricks will bat at No 3 and Van der Dussen at No 6.

    Pakistan made two changes. Imad Wasim has replaced Hussain Talat and Faheem Ashraf has missed out for Mohammad Amir.

    Proteas captain Faf du Plessis revealed that he was happy with the decision, and would have chosen to bowl first if he had won the toss.

    According to weather reports, there is expected to be evening thundershowers that could disrupt the game.

    South Africa
    1) Hashim Amla
    2) Quinton de Kock (wk)
    3) Reeza Hendricks
    4) Rassie van der Dussen
    5) Faf du Plessis (c)
    6) David Miller
    7) Andile Phehlukwayo
    8) Dale Steyn
    9) Kagiso Rabada
    10) Beuran Hendricks
    11) Tabraiz Shamsi


    1) Imam-ul-Haq
    2) Fakhar Zaman
    3) Babar Azam
    4) Mohammad Hafeez
    5) Shoaib Malik
    6) Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk) (c)
    7) Shadab Khan
    8) Imad Wasim
    9) Mohammad Amir
    10) Hasan Ali
    11) Shaheen Afridi

    Photo: Lefty Shivambu/Gallo Images

    Post by

    Khalid Mohidin