• Five bowlers but no wickets for Proteas

    The Proteas’ five-man bowling attack was rendered collectively ineffective by India batsman Rohit Sharma’s dominance on day one of the first Test at Visakhapatnam on Wednesday.

    India strode to 202 without loss at the close of play on the back of Sharma’s unbeaten century at the Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium. Wednesday’s third and final session was washed out.

    Opening the batting for the first time in Test-match cricket, Sharma moved to a largely flawless 115 not out. His stay featured five towering sixes – four off the bowling of spinner Dane Piedt. Sharma was well supported by fellow opener Mayank Agarwal, who moved to a Test-career best 84 not out. Agarwal’s previous best was 77 against Australia in Sydney earlier this year.

    Left-armer Keshav Maharaj bowled more than a third of the 59.1 overs. He, like off-spinner Dane Piedt and debutant Senuran Muthusamy, didn’t find much turn on an evidently tame pitch. India captain Virat Kohli, indeed, was right in opting to bat first after winning the toss.

    Also read: Five ways Proteas can beat India

    India: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

    South Africa: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Theunis de Bruyn, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Vernon Philander, Senuran Muthusamy, Keshav Maharaj, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada.


    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by