• Duminy returns for Windies T20Is

    JP DUMINY and Aaron Phangiso, who have both been on the long-term injury list, return to the Ticketpros Proteas T20 squad for the three-match KFC series against the West Indies next month.

    Duminy captained the Proteas in their last T20 series in Australia but was then ruled out of the Sunfoil Test series against the West Indies. Phangiso was injured during the tour of Australia and did not play in the matches there.

    Phangiso will be available for the whole series but Duminy will not play the first two matches but should be available for selection for the third.

    The selectors have kept faith with the three players who made their debut in this format in Australia – Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw and Kagiso Rabada – while Morne van Wyk has been recalled in place of the injured Quinton de Kock.

    Faf du Plessis resumes the captaincy after being rested from the T20 series in Australia.

    “Once again we are resting a number of senior players who are involved across all three formats,” commented Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener, Andrew Hudson. “This will be the last chance to rest them before we get into World Cup mode with the Momentum ODI Series against the West Indies.”

    Ticketpros Proteas T20 squad: Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans, capt), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (The Unlimited Titans), Marchant de Lange (The Unlimited Titans), JP Duminy (Nashua Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Chevrolet Knights), Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Chevrolet Knights), Morne van Wyk (Sunfoil Dolphins), David Wiese (The Unlimited Titans)