• Duminy handed T20 captaincy

    JP Duminy has been named captain of the Proteas T20 side for their series against New Zealand and Australia, while Vernon Philander is recalled to the ODI squad in place of Mthokozisi Shezi.

    The selectors have also named three new caps – Reeza Hendricks, Rilee Rossouw and Kagiso Rabada – in the T20 squad for the three-match series in Australia, which takes place on 5, 7 and 9 November.

    ‘We have decided to rest some of our core senior players who are involved in all three formats,’ explained Cricket South Africa (CSA) selection convener, Andrew Hudson, on Tuesday. ‘It is the only opportunity we have to ease their workload in what is going to be a very busy and intense summer season.

    ‘All three have done well for South Africa A and Rossouw recently made his international ODI debut as well.’

    The ODI squad announced to tour New Zealand and Australia has a far more familiar look with Philander’s return the only change to the unit that won the triangular series in Zimbabwe, where they beat Australia in a one-sided final.

    ‘We are very happy with the progress and momentum the team has established over the last couple of months, first in Sri Lanka and then in Zimbabwe,’ commented Hudson. ‘We have another 13 ODIs (three in New Zealand, five in Australia and five at home against West Indies) before we head to the World Cup to round off our preparation.’

    ODI squad: AB de Villiers (Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras, vice-capt), Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (Titans), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Ryan McLaren (Dolphins), David Miller (Dolphins), Morne Morkel (Titans), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Vernon Philander (Cape Cobras), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras).

    T20 squad: JP Duminy (Cape Cobras, capt), Kyle Abbott (Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (Titans), Quinton de Kock (Highveld Lions), Marchant de Lange (Titans), Reeza Hendricks (Knights), Imran Tahir (Dolphins), Ryan McLaren (Dolphins), David Miller (Dolphins), Wayne Parnell (Warriors), Aaron Phangiso (Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Knights), David Wiese (Titans).

    Tour itinerary:


    21 October: 1st ODI, Mount Maunganui

    24 October: 2nd ODI, Mount Maunganui

    27 October: 3rd ODI, Hamilton


    5 November: 1st T20 International, Adelaide

    7 November: 2nd T20 International, Melbourne

    9 November: 3rd T20 International, Sydney

    14 November: 1st ODI, Perth

    16 November: 2nd ODI, Perth

    19 November: 3rd ODI, Canberra

    21 November: 4th ODI, Melbourne

    23 November: 5th ODI, Sydney

    Post by