• Duminy back for Windies T20Is

    All-rounder JP Duminy and spinner Aaron Phangiso have been named in South Africa’s squad for January’s Twenty20 International series against the West Indies.

    Duminy, in the absence of the rested Faf du Plessis, captained the Proteas during November’s three T20Is against Australia – but was ruled out of the Test series versus the Windies due to a knee injury. He is expected to be available for the third and final T20I on 14 January.

    Phangiso, meanwhile, has recovered from a sprained finger – and batsmen Reeza Hendricks and Rilee Rossouw, seamer Kagiso Rabada and all-rounder David Wiese have been retained.

    Fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel and batsmen Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers have been rested. Wicketkeeper-batsman Morne van Wyk, who has not played international cricket since March 2011, has replaced the injured Quinton de Kock.

    ‘Once again we are resting a number of senior players who are involved across all three formats,’ said Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson.

    ‘This will be the last chance to rest them before we get into World Cup mode with the ODI Series against the West Indies.’

    Newlands in Cape Town, the Wanderers in Johannesburg and Kingsmead in Durban will host T20Is one, two and three respectively.

    T20I squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Farhaan Behardien, Marchant de Lange, JP Duminy, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Morne van Wyk, David Wiese.

    Post by