• De Lange in as England bat

    Eoin Morgan has won the toss and elected to bat in the first ODI between the Proteas and England in Bloemfontein.


    England will have first use of the pitch at the Mangaung Oval. At the toss, AB de Villiers admitted that he also would have batted first. The Proteas skipper tempered this statement by saying it wasn’t a bad toss to lose.

    South Africa go into this clash without several key bowlers. Dale Steyn, Vernon Philander, and Kyle Abbott are not available due to injuries. After a taxing Test series, Kagiso Rabada has been rested.

    As a result, Marchant de Lange and Chris Morris come into the side. The leg-spinner Imran Tahir will provide De Villiers with some variation.

    South Africa – Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, Rilee Rossouw, Farhaan Behardien, Chris Morris, Morné Morkel, Marchant de Lange, Imran Tahir

    England – Alex Hales, Jason Roy  Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wk), Moeen Ali, Chris Jordan, David Willey, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley

    For ball by ball commentary, click below:


    Live scorecard