• De Kock key as Mumbai win 2019 IPL

    Proteas wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock played a key role as the Mumbai Indians beat the Chennai Super Kings by one run in Sunday’s Indian Premier League final at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Uppal, Hyderabad.

    The result saw Mumbai become the first franchise to win the title four times in the tournament’s 12-year history. They were crowned champions in 2013, 2015 and again in 2017.

    De Kock was Mumbai’s leading run-scorer in this season’s competition – and the third overall with 529 in 16 innings. Only the Sunrisers Hyderabad’s David Warner and Kings XI Punjab’s Lokesh Rahul gathered more, with 692 in 12 and 593 in 14 respectively.

    Proteas leg-spinner Imran Tahir, meanwhile, finished as the 2019 IPL’s leading wicket-taker. His 26 in 17 matches topped countryman and Delhi Capitals star Kagiso Rabada, who managed 25 in 12.

    The left-handed De Kock welcomed the second-highest score of 29 in Mumbai’s final tally of 149 for eight. West Indian recruit Kieron Pollard led with 41.

    De Kock impressed during Chennai’s pursuit, too, holding the catches that dismissed the dangerous Ambati Rayudu and Dwayne Bravo. He also orchestrated the stumping that removed Chennai opener and Proteas skipper Faf du Plessis. De Kock’s performance wasn’t without blemish, though, after four avoidable byes in the penultimate over of the pursuit.

    The Super Kings required two runs off the final ball to win, but Sri Lanka pace ace Lasith Malinga’s masterful slower delivery dismissed batsman Shardul Thakur lbw.

    De Kock, Du Plessis, Tahir and others will return to South Africa next week to prepare for the World Cup in the United Kingdom later this month.



    Post by