• Cape Town Blitz all-rounder to play against SA

    Cape Town Blitz all-rounder Hussain Talat has been named in Pakistan’s squad for this month’s ODI series against South Africa.

    Talat is uncapped at international level – and played three matches for the Blitz franchise in the inaugural Mzansi Super League late last year.

    Seamer Mohammad Amir and wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan have been recalled, while batsman Asif Ali and Junaid Khan were omitted. Batsman Haris Sohail was not considered due to injury.

    ‘Amir’s good performance in the Test series not only made him an automatic selection, but also helped us in the decision to rest Mohammad Abbas,’ said chief selector Inzamam-ul-Haq.

    ‘Junaid Khan has not been considered for this tour because we feel he has to work more on his bowling, since the fitness issues that he had cut short his series against New Zealand.

    ‘Asif Ali has been dropped due to an inconsistent and below-par performance. In his place, we have decided to give Hussain Talat an opportunity to show his mettle and skills. He is a good left-handed batsman, who can also bowl.’

    South Africa sport an unassailable two-nil lead in the ongoing three-Test series against Pakistan. Their five-match ODI series will start at St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth on 19 January.

    Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Khan.

    Photo: Gallo

    Post by