• Bavuma, Behardien, Rossouw earn contracts

    CSA have confirmed the national contracted players for the year, and Temba Bavuma, Farhaan Behardien and Rilee Rossouw have been awarded them for the first time.

    Following the news of AB de Villiers’ appointment as permanent Test captain, the board also released the list of contracted players for the next year.

    Bavuma has been rewarded for his performances in the Test setup, while Behardien and Rossouw, who is pushing for a spot in the Test side, enter the list for their efforts in the shorter formats. Their inclusions see Ryan McLaren and Lonwabo Tsotsobe leave the list, both of whom haven’t played for the Proteas for over a year.

    Senior players Hashim Amla, De Villiers, Morne Morkel, Faf du Plessis, JP Duminy and Dale Steyn are on two-year contracts, while Vernon Philander has also been added to that exclusive list.

    The contracted players are:
    Kyle Abbott, David Miller, Hashim Amla (2 years), Morne Morkel (2 years), Temba Bavuma, Wayne Parnell, Farhaan Behardien, Aaron Phangiso, Quinton de Kock, Vernon Philander (2 years), AB de Villiers (2 years), Kagiso Rabada, Faf du Plessis (2 years), Rilee Rossouw, JP Duminy (2 years), Dale Steyn (2 years), Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir.


    Post by