• Australia name squad for England tour

    Cricket Australia have announced a 21-man squad to tour England at the start of next month for a limited-overs series.

    Australia are set to face Eoin Morgan’s men in three T20Is, all of which will be played at the Ageas Bowl in Southampton, before going to Manchester for the same amount of ODIs at Old Trafford.

    The touring squad includes three uncapped players in Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams and Riley Meredith, who all impressed during the 2020-21 Big Bash League, while Glen Maxwell, Nathan Lyon and Marcus Stoinis make long-awaited returns.

    Aaron Finch will captain the teams once again, while David Warner and Steve Smith are also part of the squad.

    Australia currently occupy top spot in the ICC T20 rankings, while England are still the No 1-ranked ODI team in the world after their triumph at last year’s World Cup.

    The Aussies are coming off the back of an ODI-series whitewash at the hands of the Proteas in March before winning the first ODI against New Zealand in Sydney, which was the last cricket they played before Covid-19 brought an end to that series.

    England, though, recently beat Ireland 2-1 in an ODI series with a fairly inexperienced team but would fancy their chances given their recent success against Australia in white-ball cricket.

    ‘It’s a squad with great depth and a sprinkle of some exceptional young players,’ said National Selection Panel chair Trevor Hohns.

    ‘We are very excited by these young players who we believe are all capable of playing a role in the Australian setup in coming years.’

    Australia’s T20 and ODI squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa


    4 September – 1st T20I (Southampton)

    6 September – 2nd T20I (Southampton)

    8 September – 3rd T20I (Southampton)

    11 September – 1st ODI (Manchester)

    13 September – 2nd ODI (Manchester)

    16 September – 3rd ODI (Manchester)



    Post by

    Andre Huisamen