• AB wins ODI award

    South African captain AB de Villiers has been named the ICC’s ODI Player of the Year for the second time.

    De Villiers won the prestigious award, announced on Friday, by beating off fellow Proteas Quinton de Kock and Dale Steyn and India’s Virat Kohli. He also won it in 2010.

    Australia’s Mitchell Johnson won his second Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the ICC Cricketer of the Year and Test Cricketer of the Year at the 2014 LG ICC Awards.

    De Villiers and Dale Steyn were also included in the ICC’s Test XI of the year, with De Villiers named as the wicketkeeper as well.

    De Villiers and Steyn also cracked the nod for the ODI Team of the Year, along with Quinton de Kock.

    In the year under review Johnson, who won the award in 2009, claimed 59 wickets in eight Tests at an impressive average of 15.23. This included two five-wicket and one 10-wicket hauls. The left-arm fast bowler was equally impressive in 50 overs cricket when he notched up 21 wickets in 16 matches at an average of 33.04 with an economy rate of under five runs per over.

    Since the inception of the awards in 2004, Ricky Ponting is the only other player who has won this award twice – 2006 and 2007.

    This year’s LG ICC Awards include 11 individual prizes and also featured the selection of the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year.

    The individual player awards were shortlisted by an academy of highly credentialed cricket personalities from around the world, after the long-list nominations were made by a five-person ICC selection panel led by former India captain and Chairman of the ICC Cricket Committee Anil Kumble.

    The full list of winners is:

    ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
    ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Mitchell Johnson (Australia)
    ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Sarah Taylor (England)
    ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – AB de Villiers (South Africa)
    ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Gary Ballance (England)
    ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Preston Mommsen (Scotland)
    ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Aaron Finch (Australia)
    ICC T20I Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Meg Lanning (Australia)
    ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Katherine Brunt (England)
    ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) – Richard Kettleborough
    LG People’s Choice – Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India)

    ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

    David Warner (Aus)
    Kane Williamson (NZ)
    Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
    AB de Villiers (SA) (wicketkeeper)
    Joe Root (Eng)
    Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain)
    Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
    Stuart Broad (Eng)
    Dale Steyn (SA)
    Rangana Herath (SL)
    Tim Southee (NZ)
    Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)

    ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order):

    Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)
    Quinton de Kock (SA)
    Virat Kohli (Ind)
    George Bailey (Aus)
    AB de Villiers (SA)
    MS Dhoni (Ind) (wicketkeeper) (captain)
    Dwayne Bravo (WI)
    James Faulkner (Aus)
    Dale Steyn (SA)
    Mohammad Shami (Ind)
    Ajantha Mendis (SL)
    Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)

    Photo: Backpagepix

    Post by