• Zondo to skipper South Africa A

    Khaya Zondo will captain South Africa A in their tour match against Australia at Willowmoore Park from 22-24 February.

    The Cape Cobras duo of Pieter Malan and Zubayr Hamza as well as Dolphins all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy have been chosen at this level for the first time.

    ‘With no franchise cricket scheduled for that weekend it gives another group of fringe players an ideal opportunity to show what they have to offer against top-quality opposition,’ said convenor of selectors Linda Zondi.

    Australia are in the country to play four Tests against the Proteas, with that series getting underway in Durban on 1 March.

    South Africa A squad:

    Khayalihle Zondo (Dolphins, captain), Theunis de Bruyn (Knights), Zubayr Hamza (Cape Cobras), Beuran Hendricks (Highveld Lions), Pieter Malan (Cape Cobras), Wiaan Mulder (Highveld Lions), Senuran Muthusamy (Dolphins), Duanne Olivier (Knights), Rudi Second (Knights), Malusi Siboto (Titans), Shaun von Berg (Titans)

    Proteas T20I squad

    Photo: Anesh Debiky/Gallo Images

    Post by

    Simon Borchardt