• World Cup T20 fixtures announced

    South Africa will return to the city where they lost their first Test series in nine years away from home when Faf du Plessis’s men start their World Cup T20 campaign in India against England.

    South Africa’s opening group match has been scheduled for Nagpur on 18 March, the same city where they lost by 124 runs to give India an unassailable 2-0 lead in their four-match series.

    The Proteas are about to take on England at home where, after the Test and ODI series, they will play two T20I’s in Cape Town and Johannesburg. While the conditions will differ considerably from Nagpur, the two teams will still get a chance to measure each other up.

    South Africa have been drawn in Group 1 together with England, Sri Lanka, West Indies and the winner of the Group B qualifier.

    Group 2 consists of India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and the winner of the Group A qualifier.

    South Africa’s women are in Group A, with Australia, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Ireland.

    According to the men’s event format, eight sides in two groups of four, will feature in the first round matches with the group winners joining eight top-ranked sides in the Super 10 stage (two groups of five teams). The top two sides from both the Super 10 Groups will then qualify for the semi-finals.

    In the women’s event, the 10 sides will be divided into two groups and the top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

    New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

    The men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6million, which is an 86% increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122% increase from the Bangladesh event.

    Men’s second round groups
    Super 10 Group 1: Sri Lanka, South Africa, West Indies, England and winner Group B.
    Super 10 Group 2: India, Pakistan, Australia, New Zealand and winner Group A.

    Women’s groups
    Group A: Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and Ireland.
    Group B: England, West Indies, India, Pakistan and Bangladesh.

    Proteas fixtures
    18 March vs England
    20 March vs qualifier
    25 March vs West Indies
    28 March vs Sri Lanka

    Women’s fixtures
    18 March vs Australia
    23 March vs Ireland
    26 March vs New Zealand
    28 March vs Sri Lanka

    Post by