• Turner, Short in Aussie squad for India series

    Batsmen Ashton Turner and D’Arcy Short have been named in Australia’s squad for five ODIs and two T20Is against India later this year.

    Seamers Kane Richardson and Nathan Coulter-Nile have been recalled – and batsman Shaun Marsh will join the squad belatedly after the birth of his second child.

    Seamer Peter Siddle, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, and fast bowler Billy Stanlake have been dropped.

    Fast bowlers Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc were not considered due to injury.

    ‘Unfortunately, scans have revealed that Starc sustained a substantial tear to his left pectoral muscle while bowling on the final day of the Test match in Canberra against Sri Lanka recently,’ said national selector Trevor Hohns.

    ‘This means he will be unavailable for the tour of India, but we will instead target a return to play for the ODI series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates in March.

    ‘Kane has been in outstanding form over the summer, including his recent performances in the Big Bash League. Kane not only has experience playing ODI cricket for Australia, but he’s also performed well for his country when given the opportunity.

    ‘Nathan provides us with another quality bowling option, he brings good energy in the field and can also score runs in high-pressure situations.

    ‘Peter and Mitchell are unfortunate to miss out, but our message throughout the summer remains true, with such a big schedule ahead, opportunities may well present themselves.

    ‘Ashton has been on our radar for some time, given his performances in the shorter formats. Ashton is a smart cricketer who reads the game well and provides us with another strong batting option. He’s been in good form over the summer, and he has an opportunity to put his case forward ahead of the World Cup.’

    Squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa, D’Arcy Short (as cover for Shaun Marsh).

    Post by