• Tuks, Madibaz B crowned USSA champions

    University of Pretoria (Assupol Tuks) and Nelson Mandela University (Madibaz B) were crowned champions as the University Sport South Africa (USSA) A Week drew to a conclusion in Stellenbosch on Friday.

    Tuks overcame University of Western Cape (UWC) in the Section A final, thanks to an outstanding performance from Jiveshan Pillay with the bat, and a strong display with the ball from the bowlers.

    After winning the toss and fielding, the Pretoria side posted 207 for three in 30 overs after former South Africa U19 opener Pillay top-scored with 78 off 76 balls.

    In reply, UWC could only muster 129 in 25.4 overs, with Neil Brand bagging 3-33. Gideon Peters chipped in with 2-14 and Ruben Trumpelmann nabbed 2-19 – Tuks winning by a comfortable 78 runs at Eurolux Boland Park.

    The Section B final was a thrilling affair as Madibaz B beat University of Free State (Kovsies) by two wickets at Coetzenburg. After losing the toss and batting, the Free Staters were stunned by Lyall Pieterse’s 4-24, to be shot out for 128 in 37.1 overs – the match reduced to a 47-over per side affair.

    Madibaz B slipped to 109-8 during their reply, but an unbeaten 46 from Travis Ackermann took the men from Port Elizabeth across the line in 43.5 overs.

    Elsewhere in Section B, University of Fort Hare bounced back from their dismal six all out in the semi-final, by overcoming University of Witwatersrand (Wits) by two wickets in their third/fourth place classification match.

    Asithembile Jafta claimed 3-21 as the Johannesburg side was bowled out for 131. Akona Namba then struck an unbeaten 56 as Fort Hare chased down the target in 44.1 overs.

    University of KwaZulu-Natal (UKZN) finally won a match when they won the seventh/eight classification match by four wickets against Walter Sisulu University (WSU).

    Gareth Jeary (4-18) and Faiz Shafik (3-23) shared seven wickets as WSU were bowled out for 165, with Carl Jairaj then hitting 48 to help UKZN ease to the win.

    The fifth/sixth classification match between Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) and North West University (Vaal) was abandoned without a ball being bowled.

    In Section A classification games, North West University (Pukke) against University of Stellenbosch (Maties) and University of Johannesburg (UJ) versus Nelson Mandela University (Madibaz A) were abandoned.

    The only other game, apart from the final, was won by Central University of Technology (CUT) over University of Cape Town (UCT) by 104 runs.

    Nealan van Heerden (3-10), Jason Raubenheimer (3-21) and Devon du Plessis (3-24) each took three wickets as the latter were dismissed for 76 chasing 180.

    Leading run-scorer
    Hanno Kotze (Madibaz B)

    Leading wicket-taker
    Beyers Swanepoel (UFS)

    Player of the Tournament
    Neil Brand (Tuks)

    USSA team
    Ruan Haasbroek (captain, North West University Potchefstroom)
    Kenan Smith (Madibaz)
    Levin Muller (Madibaz)
    Ismaeel Gafieldien (Maties)
    Fritz de Beer (Maties)
    Kabelo Sekhukhune (Fort Hare)
    Luke Philander (UWC)
    Beyers Swanepoel (Kovsies)
    Katle Leokake (NWU Potchefstroom)
    Sabir Mallie (UWC)
    Dilivio Ridgard (Kovsies)
    Mihlali Mpongwana (UWC)
    Jay Stevens (Maties).
    The USSA team will participate at the CSA Future Cup in April in Kimberley against SA Rural and SA Colts

    Photo: Cricket South Africa

    Post by

    Simon Lewis