• ‘The fans of Paarl will not disappoint’

    Boland Cricket Board chief executive officer James Fortuin is confident Paarl will vindicate inclusion in the Mzansi Super League.

    Boland Park has been chosen as one of six venues for South Africa’s new Twenty20 league.  Bloemfontein’s Mangaung Oval and Kimberley’s Diamond Oval were overlooked.

    The Western Cape has been afforded two venues and teams – the Paarl Rocks and Newlands’ Cape Town Blitz.

    ‘We are delighted that Cricket SA have shown confidence in our abilities. And we know the fans of Paarl will not disappoint,’ Fortuin told Independent Media.

    ‘We are fully compliant with the Stadia Act.’

    While former Proteas batsman Ashwell Prince will likely be appointed coach of the Blitz, Fortuin won’t yet disclose who will take charge of the Rocks.

    ‘We are still busy sourcing a management team. We are still exploring all options.’

    National captain Faf du Plessis has been named the Rocks’ marquee Proteas player, while the Blitz have batsman JP Duminy.

    The player draft will happen on Wednesday, when England’s Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy and Dawid Malan, West Indians Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo and Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan will be among several international stars available for selection.

    The tournament will feature 32 matches and starts on 16 November 2018. It will end exactly a month later, on 16 December.

    Image: Gallo

    Post by

    Jonhenry Wilson