• Tailenders frustrate India

    Tailenders Keshav Maharaj and Kagiso Rabada prolonged the Proteas’ first innings before India opener Mayank Agarwal fell early in the second, on day four of the first Test at the Dr YS Rajasekhara Reddy ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Visakhapatnam.

    Resuming on 385-8 overnight, the tourists ended with 431 all out in response to the hosts’ 502-7 declared, which was built on the back of a superb double-century from Agarwal.

    Debutant all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy shepherded Maharaj and Rabada well, until spinner Ravichandran Ashwin struck twice to complete a telling seven-wicket haul.

    Unlike the first innings, the right-handed Agarwal was not afforded an extended stay. Instead, sharp turn from Maharaj gathered the outside edge, with slip fielder Faf du Plessis at hand for a relatively straightforward catch.

    On day three opener Dean Elgar and wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock became South Africa’s first Test centurions in India since 2010.

    India: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami.

    South Africa: Aiden Markram, Dean Elgar, Theunis de Bruyn, Temba Bavuma, Faf du Plessis (c), Quinton de Kock (wk), Vernon Philander, Senuran Muthusamy, Keshav Maharaj, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada.


    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by