• St Charles’ unbeaten run continues

    St Charles College won three out of three at the Independent Schools Cricket Festival hosted by St Alban’s College over the weekend, writes THEO GARRUN.

    The Pietermaritzburg side beat St Andrew’s school in their time cricket game last Thursday after the coaches had decided to make it a one-innings each contest because an entire day’s play had been lost. They then went on to beat Cornwall Hill in their second outing before accounting for St David’s by 61 runs on Sunday.

    The three wins meant that the team is still unbeaten after 17 matches, beginning last term. Their last two games at the rain-affected festival were T20 affairs, which will have been good practice for them ahead of the Schools T20 tournament at Tukkies on 15-17 March. St Charles will be there as the Dolphins’ franchise representatives.

    St Stithians beat St Andrew’s by seven wickets on Sunday to make it two wins and a draw from their three games. Hilton, Kingswood and Michaelhouse also drew their time cricket games and went on to win the other two.

    The batsmen were on top on the final day. There were seven half-centuries scored, with the most runs coming from Guy Rushmere, who was 91 not out for St Andrew’s College against Cornwall Hill, Luke Gammie of Michaelhouse, who got 82 against Uplands, and Troy Kyle of St Benedict’s, who made 77 against St George’s.

    The best bowling performance was Thomas Vermaak’s 6-32 for St Andrew’s School against Cornwall Hill.

    The attention turns to the T20 competition this week with the next round of franchise finals scheduled for next weekend.

    SACS won the Western Province provincial title at the weekend and they travel to George for the Cobras playoff on Friday, where they will meet Paarl Gim (Boland) and Langenhoven Gim (SWD). The Titans finals are on Friday and Saturday.

    The rain-delayed Gauteng provincial finals will take place on Tuesday and Wednesday. Jeppe plays St Stithians and KES meet St John’s in the semifinals on Tuesday, with the final the next day.


    St Charles 136-9 (Clive Madande 43; Bradley Griffin 4-30).
    St David’s 75 (Jason Login 3-8)
    St Charles won by 61 runs

    Hilton 181-6 (Nic Hutton 67, Chris Meyer 36, Michael Booth 38)
    Helpmekaar 83-9 (Keune Kirkham26 Ryan Lombard 26; John Turner 3-14).
    Hilton won by 98 runs

    St Benedict’s 225-9 (Troy Kyle 77, Tiaan de Klek 32)
    St George’s 149 (A Craemer 2-8, Matthew Oosthuizen 2-12)
    St Benedict’s won by 76 runs

    Kearsney 191 (Cade Carmichael 65)
    St John’s College 192-9 (Jonathan Miltz 57; Matthew Murray 3-31)
    St John’s College won by 1 wicket

    St John’s Harare 156 (Dean Ralphs 47; Rowan Howard 4-29)
    Bishops 157-7 (Na’eem Adonis 27)
    Bishops won by 3 wickets

    Cornwall Hill 91 (Tom Vermaak 6-32)
    St Andrew’s College 92-1 (Guy Rushmere 91 not out)
    St Andrew’s College won by 9 wickets

    Clifton 115
    Kingswood 116-4
    Kingswood won by 6 wickets

    Michaelhouse 174-4 (Luke Gammie 82 Gavin Veenstra 31)
    Uplands 92 (James Fleming 3-15)
    Michaelhouse won by 82 runs

    St Andrew’s School 143-8 (Corne Viljoen 53)
    St Stithians 144-7
    St Stithians won by 3 wickets

    St Alban’s 126 (Darren Sullivan 27)
    Malvern College 128-7 (Harshil Jeeva: 2-13, Arnaud du Plessis: 2-24)2
    Malvern College won by 3 wickets

    Photo: Theo Garrun

    Post by

    Theo Garrun