• R2m for 4-Day Franchise Series winner

    Cricket South Africa has revealed the prize money on offer for 2018-19’s 4-Day Franchise Series.

    The series is currently without a major sponsor, after Sunfoil withdrew earlier this year.

    The 4-Day Franchise Series will start on 26 September, when the Titans host the Dolphins at Centurion.

    The Titans are the reigning champions, after two wins, one defeat and seven draws in 2017-18.

    The Warriors clinched second position, followed by the third-placed Cape Cobras.

    The Knights and Dolphins finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

    The Lions occupied last spot in the six-team standings.

    ‘At the conclusion of the series, the team with the highest number of points will be declared the winner of the competition,’ read an excerpt from the 4-Day Franchise Series playing conditions.

    ‘In the event of more than one team ending the series on the same number of points, they shall be declared joint winners.’

    Lions batsman Rassie van der Dussen top-scored last season, welcoming 959 runs in 18 innings. Dolphins left-hander Vaughn van Jaarsveld finished second to Van der Dussen, with 898 in 18.

    Warriors spinner Simon Harmer was the top wicket-taker. He clinched 47 in 13 matches. Dolphins spinner Senuran Muthusamy came second, snaring 33 in 14.

    Prize money

    • Winner: R2-million
    • Second place: R600,000
    • Third place: R400,000
    • Man of the Match: R4,500 per match
    • Man of the Series: R40,000

    Post by