• Proteas bowl in reduced match

    The Proteas have won the toss and elected to bowl in a 34-over ODI match against New Zealand in Hamilton.

    More than three hours of play have been lost due to the rain and wet outfield at Seddon Park. As it stands, the first game of this five-match ODI series will be a 34-over-a-side affair.

    The conditions influenced Proteas captain AB de Villiers’s decision to bowl first. At the toss, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson admitted that he would also have elected to bowl.

    South Africa have made two changes to the side that thrashed New Zealand by 78 runs in the T20I in Auckland on Friday. Kagiso Rabada and Tabraiz Shamsi start ahead of Wayne Parnell and Dane Paterson.

    New Zealand – 1 Dean Brownlie, 2 Tom Latham (wk), 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Ross Taylor, 5 Neil Broom, 6 James Neesham, 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Colin de Grandhomme 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Trent Boult

    South Africa – 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 JP Duminy, 6 Farhaan Behardien, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 Imran Tahir, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi

    Live scorecard