• Ngidi, Markram named in SA Cricket Annual’s top five

    Batsman Aiden Markram and fast bowler Lungi Ngidi are among the five Cricketers of the Year named in the 2018 South African Cricket Annual, published on Thursday.

    Markram scored 1,000 runs at an average of 55.55 in his first season of Test cricket, while Ngidi made a superb start to his Test career by taking six for 39 on debut against India at Centurion.

    Unlike the official Cricket South Africa awards, a player can only be honoured once as a South African Cricket Annual Cricketer of the Year.

    The other three players named in the 2018 Annual are Titans fast bowler Junior Dala, Warriors captain Jon-Jon Smuts and Lions batsman Rassie van der Dussen.

    The South African Cricket Annual is widely regarded as one of the best publications of its type – a local equivalent of England’s famed Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack.

    It covers one of the most eventful periods in South Africa’s cricketing history, with a home season that featured 10 Test matches, including series wins against India and Australia.

    There are also tributes to recent international retirees AB de Villiers and Morne Morkel.

    A comprehensive obituaries section recalls the lives of a range of cricketing personalities, including Test stars Colin Bland and Clive van Ryneveld – and all-rounder Sulaiman ‘Dik’ Abed.

    Photo: Gallo

    Post by