• New captaincy role for Du Plessis

    Proteas batsman Faf du Plessis has been named captain of the World XI for a T20I series against the Asia XI next month.

    Du Plessis, who recently resigned from the Proteas Test and T20I captaincy, will lead a World XI squad that also features Proteas fast bowler Lungi Ngidi. Du Plessis was part of the World XI that toured Pakistan in 2017.

    READ: Nortje wants T20 World Cup berth

    England trio Adil Rashid, Alex Hales and Jonny Bairstow have also been chosen. Zimbabwe’s Brendan Taylor and West Indian quartet Nicholas Pooran, Chris Gayle, Sheldon Cottrell and Kieron Pollard are in the squad as well.

    Seamers Andrew Tye and Mitchell McClenaghan, from Australia and New Zealand, respectively, have also been selected.

    The matches will be played in Dhaka, Bangladesh, on 18 and 21 March.

    ALSO READ: Who should open batting with De Kock?

    Asia XI squad: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane.

    World XI squad: Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (c), Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by