• Mumbai and Duminy part ways

    South African batsman JP Duminy is among several players released by the Mumbai Indians ahead of next year’s Indian Premier League.

    Duminy played six matches for Mumbai in the 2018 tournament and scored just 36 runs.

    He is currently sidelined by a shoulder injury and consequently won’t play for the Cape Town Blitz in the inaugural Mzansi Super League later this year.

    ‘JP aggravated a pre-existing shoulder injury during the recently concluded series against Zimbabwe,’ said Proteas team manager and doctor Mohammed Moosajee last month.

    ‘The injury will require surgical management, thus ruling him out of the tour of Australia and the upcoming MSL.

    ‘At the moment, we can’t say how long he will be out for, that is dependent on the results from the surgery.’

    The veteran left-hander was also released by Islamabad United for the 2019 Pakistan Super League earlier this month.

    Retained by Mumbai: Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan (WK), Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Quinton de Kock, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff.

    Released by Mumbai: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.

    Post by

    Jonhenry Wilson