Cricket’s rulebook chiefs have clarified the law covering non-strikers being run out by a bowler to avoid the “ambiguity” stirred up by a recent incident involving Australia’s Adam Zampa in the Big Bash League.
Earlier this month Zampa, the Melbourne Stars captain, tried to dismiss Melbourne Renegades’ non-striker Tom Rogers, annoyed he was stepping too far out of his crease.
Zampa stopped during his bowling run-up as Rogers left his ground, whipping off the bails.
The umpire sent the decision for review and Rogers was ultimately adjudged not out as Zampa’s arm had passed its highest point where he would reasonably be expected to release the ball.
Spicy, spicy scenes at the MCG.
— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 3, 2023
Marylebone Cricket Club, which still has global responsibility for cricket’s laws, issued a statement soon afterwards confirming TV umpire Shawn Craig had ruled correctly.
But the MCC said on Thursday the previous wording of Law 38.3.2 had led some to think such a run out could happen even after the bowler had gone through the bowling action.
“That was never the intention of this Law, nor the way it was ever interpreted by MCC,” said a statement from the Lord’s-based club.
The revised Law now reads: “Even if the non-striker had left his/her ground before the instant at which the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, once the bowler has reached that point it is no longer possible for the bowler to run out the non-striker under this Law.”
It came into immediate effect on Thursday.
The once-rare dismissal is named after India all-rounder Vinoo Mankad, who ran out Australia’s Bill Brown in such fashion in a 1948 Test.
Although they can be a source of ill-feeling, lawmakers have repeatedly insisted ‘Mankads’ are legitimate.
Nevertheless, a fresh debate ensued after Pakistan’s Zaib-un-Nisa dismissed Rwanda’s Shakila Niyomuhoza with a Mankad during the ongoing U19 Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.
— Talent blasters (@TalentBlasters) January 15, 2023
By contrast, India captain Rohit Sharma was praised last week for withdrawing a ‘Mankad’ appeal against Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka in a ODI in Guwahati.
Shanaka was on 98 when run out at the non-striker’s end by India pace bowler Mohammed Shami.
Shanaka went on to get his second ODI century with an unbeaten 108, but India went on to defeat the tourists by 67 runs.
Nevertheless, Rohit’s decision to drop the appeal prompted Sri Lanka great Sanath Jayasuriya to tweet: “The real winner was the sportsmanship of Rohit Sharma for refusing to take the run out. I doff my cap to you!”
© Agence France-Presse