• Knights pair among new Warriors

    The Warriors have named the seven new players set to join the franchise ahead of the 2020-21 domestic season.

    Whilst retaining some of the brand’s key performers from the 2019-20 season, the Warriors look forward to welcoming fresh talent into the squad.

    Former Proteas cricketer and current General Manager for Eastern Province Cricket and Cricket Eastern Cape, Shafiek Abrahams, announced the squad on Thursday.

    READ: Why Kallis remains South Africa’s GOAT

    Abrahams said he believed the balance of players brought a strong mix of sound experience and fresh talent and vibrancy.

    ‘Despite the abrupt end to the 2019-20 cricket season, it is with much pride that we commend our players for their outstanding performances in the various domestic formats,’ said Abrahams.

    ‘The Warriors franchise remains a brand committed to growing and moulding the skillsets of each individual team member with the vision of empowering the team as a whole.

    ‘We look forward to seeing what the next season will bring,” he said.

    ‘We believe that the squad selection embodies the Warriors’ commitment towards affording opportunity to those who are most deserving and those who show a sheer love for the game.’

    New players in the squad for 2020-21: Stefan Tait (SWD); Wihan Lubbe (Lions); Tsepo Ntuli (Knights); Mthiwekhaya Nabe (Cobras); Marco Jansen (Knights); Basheer Walters (EP); Aya Gqamane (Border).

    Full 2020-2021 Warriors contracted squad: Matthew Breetzke; Gihahn Cloete; Jade de Klerk; Aya Gqamane; Marco Jansen; Wihan Lubbe; Marco Marais; Edward Moore; Mthiwekhaya Nabe; Lesiba Ngoepe; Tsepo Ntuli; Sinethemba Qeshile; Rudi Second; Jon-Jon Smuts; Glenton Stuurman; Stefan Tait; Yaseen Vallie; Basheer Walters.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by