• India lose Rohit, Ravichandran

    Batsman Rohit Sharma and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin have been ruled out of India’s second Test against Australia, which will get under way in Perth on Friday.

    Sharma and Ashwin have been sidelined by respective back and side injuries. Opener Prithvi Shaw, meanwhile, is still recovering from the ankle injury that kept him out of the series opener.

    Sharma scored 37 and one  Рand Ashwin took six wickets Рin the first Test.

    All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, and seamers Umesh Yadav and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been added to the squad as replacements. The inexperienced Hanuma Vihari will likely replace Sharma in the XI, while one of Jadeja, Yadav or Kumar will fill Ashwin’s berth.

    ‘We are excited, more than nervous, looking at such pitches,’ said captain Virat Kohli, after observing the pitch at the Perth Stadium, which will host its first-ever Test this week.

    India sport an early lead in the four-match series, after a 31-run victory on day five of the first Test in Adelaide. Melbourne and Sydney will host Tests three and four respectively. Three ODIs will follow.

    Squad: Virat Kohli, M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav.

    Photo: Getty


    Post by