• India announce Champions Trophy squad

    The BCCI have announced their 15-man squad for the Champions Trophy, after speculation had run rife surrounding their participation in the tournament, which kicks off on 1 June. 

    After failing to turn out a squad by the applicable deadline on 25 April, a flurry of rumours emerged about their participation in the tournament.

    ALSO READ: India fail to meet squad deadline

    The India board squashed these rumours after a special General Body meeting on Sunday in Delhi and confirmed their participation in the tournament.

    ALSO READ: India confirm Champions Trophy participation

    The BCCI took to twitter on Monday to announce their squad of 15 players, which includes Rohit Sharma, whose last ODI was on 29 October 2016, as Lokesh Rahul is ruled out of the tournament while he recovers from shoulder surgery, after forming part of the lineup who faced England in January.

    Mohammed Shami has been favoured over Amit Mishra, with Shami not having played an ODI since the 2015 World Cup semi-final, and now slots in as the fifth pace-bowling option behind Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav and Hardik Pandya.

    According to Times of India, other notable mentions by the chairman of selectors MSK Prasad were: Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav, Rishabh Pant and Shardul Thakur, who are on standby. The five players will join the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore after the IPL and will have visas ready in case of late or emergency call-ups.

    India squad: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Manish Pandey.

    Photo: AFP/Manjunath Kiran

    Post by