• ICC announce teams of the year

    Three South African players have been included in the ICC’s ODI Team of the Year, but no-one made it into the Test side of 2015.

    Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir represent South Africa in the ODI team with De Villiers picked for the fourth time in five years and for the first time as captain.

    The Test and ODI team of the year was chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

    The qualification period ran from 18 September 2014 to 13 September  2015 and the selection panel included past greats of the world game including former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, ex-England batsman Mark Butcher, former Australia women’s captain Belinda Clark and G Viswanath, Deputy Editor of The Hindu & Sportstar.

    Even though South Africa are the No 1-ranked Test team in the world, it comes as no surprise that no player from the Proteas have made the cut for the Test side.

    South Africa have played very little Test cricket in 2015, during which two Tests in Bangladesh in July were washed out by rain. They are currently locked in a four-match series against India which the home side have already won 2-0, but Amla and his men will get a chance at redemption when England tour South Africa at the end of December.

    ICC Test Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):
    David Warner (Aus)
    Alastair Cook (Eng, captain)
    Kane Williamson (NZ)
    Younis Khan (Pak)
    Steven Smith (Aus)
    Joe Root (Eng)
    Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak, wicketkeeper)
    Stuart Broad (Eng)
    Trent Boult (NZ)
    Yasir Shah (Pak)
    Josh Hazlewood (Aus)
    12th: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

    ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):
    Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
    Hashim Amla (SA)
    Kumar Sangakkara (SL, wicketkeeper)
    AB de Villiers (SA, captain)
    Steven Smith (Aus)
    Ross Taylor (NZ)
    Trent Boult (NZ)
    Mohammed Shami (Ind)
    Mitchell Starc (Aus)
    Mustafizur Rahman (Bang)
    Imran Tahir (SA)
    12th: Joe Root (Eng)

    Post by