• History favours Proteas in final ODI

    Wednesday’s ODI is only the second time South Africa have gone into the final game of a three-match series against New Zealand at home all square at 1-1.

    The first time was back in 2007 when South Africa ended up winning the final game to take the series 2-1. One could argue that history is on their side, but in it’s a thin argument. Only AB de Villiers and JP Duminy played in all three ODIs then, but Morne van Wyk and Dale Steyn also played a game each.

    There are no survivors from New Zealand.

    Back then, like this time around, South Africa won the first ODI (by two wickets), but lost the second game heavily by seven wickets, with 68 balls to spare. This time the Proteas won the first ODI (by 20 runs) and lost the second game by eight wickets, with 33 balls to spare.

    South Africa clinched the 2007 series by five wickets in Cape Town. They did, however, lose the next home series against New Zealand 2-1 in 2013, when the Black Caps wrapped up the first two games before going down in the third.

    SACricketmag.com took a walk down memory lane to see what happened in 2007.

    1st ODI:  25 November 2007
    New Zealand 248-6 (Jamie How 90, Brendon McCullum 40, Scott Styris 40; Andre Nel 3-46).
    South Africa 249-8 (AB de Villiers 87, JP Duminy 46, Graeme Smith 44; Kyle Mills 5-25).
    South Africa win by two wickets

    2nd ODI: 30 November 2007
    South Africa 209-9 (Shaun Pollock 52, Mark Boucher 48; Kyle Mills 3-43, Mark Gillespie 3-55).
    New Zealand 210-3 (38.4 overs) (Brendon McCullum 81, Jamie How 76; Charl Langeveldt 1-40).
    New Zealand won by seven wickets, with 68 balls remaining

    3rd ODI: 2 December 2007
    New Zealand 238-8 (Matthew Sinclair 73, Scott Styris 60; Dale Steyn 2-50, Charl Langeveldt 2-46).
    South Africa 242-5 in 45.2 overs (Herschelle Gibbs 119, Graeme Smith 51; Daniel Vettori 3-33).
    South Africa won by five wickets, with 28 balls to spare

    Post by