• Fortuin debuts at Kingsmead

    England captain Eoin Morgan won the toss and opted to bowl first in Friday’s second ODI against the Proteas at Kingsmead in Durban.

    The hosts replaced fast bowler Lungi Ngidi with ODI debutant spinner Bjorn Fortuin. The tourists named an unchanged XI.

    Rain reduced the fixture to 45 overs per innings. The start of play was delayed by almost two hours.

    OPINION: Bavuma’s actions speak louder than words

    The Proteas won Tuesday’s series opener on the back of captain Quinton de Kock’s century. The result afforded the home side an early lead in the three-match series. The final ODI will be played at the Wanderers in Johannesburg on Sunday.

    South Africa and England will then contest three T20Is – in East London, Durban and Centurion. Both are preparing for the T20 World Cup in Australia later this year. England won the T20 World Cup in 2010. South Africa have never won the title.

    READ: When Donald wrecked England at Kingsmead

    South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicketkeeper, captain), Reeza Hendricks, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen, Jon-Jon Smuts, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Tabraiz Shamsi, Bjorn Fortuin.

    England: Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow (wicketkeeper), Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Joe Denly, Tom Banton, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Matthew Parkinson.


    Post by