• England resist change for Caribbean Tests

    England have named an unchanged squad for the Test series against the West Indies early next year.

    Wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Foakes has been retained, while opener Jason Roy has been overlooked, despite speculation he would be included as an additional batsman.

    ‘The Test squad is unchanged from the recent 3-0 series victory against Sri Lanka,’ read a statement from the England and Wales Cricket Board.

    ‘Two players return to the ODI set-up, having missed the series in Sri Lanka. Tom Curran and David Willey are included. Sam Curran, Liam Dawson and Ollie Stone all miss out.

    ‘England will name their T20I squad for the three-match series against in the Windies in due course.’

    The West Indies and England will meet for three Tests from 23 January to 13 February 2019. Five ODIs and three T20Is will follow.

    Test squad: Joe Root (captain), Moeen Ali, Jimmy Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran, Joe Denly, Ben Foakes, Keaton Jennings, Jack Leach, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.

    ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood.

    Photo: Gallo

    Post by