• Dolphins continue dominance in Durban

    The Dolphins sealed their fifth consecutive win of the CSA T20 Challenge by beating the Titans by seven runs in Durban on Friday.

    Having already booked their place in Sunday’s final, the Dolphins maintained their impressive unbeaten record with another solid display at their home ground.

    The Titans on the other hand needed nothing but a win to progress to Saturday’s playoff match against the Lions.

    An unbeaten 49 by David Miller saw the Dolphins post 151-6 in the allotted 20 overs with Sarel Erwee adding 33 at the top of the order. Lungi Ngidi was the pick of the bowlers for the Titans, claiming figures of 3-20 in his four-over spell.

    In reply the men from Pretoria were dealt an early blow when Robbie Frylinck got rid of Aiden Markram, who only managed three.

    READ: Lions send Cobras packing

    Dean Elgar and Dayyaan Galiem battled on but the former was next to go, caught by Keshav Maharaj for 25 off the bowling of Kerwin Mungroo.

    Galiem made 45 off 31 before he fell to Frylinck, while Sibonelo Makhanya became Mungroo’s second wicket when was caught by David Miller for 15.

    Chris Morris only added six but Heinrich Klaasen kept the Titans in the hunt with a couple of much-needed boundaries.

    Requiring 22 from the final over, Klaasen struck a six off the very first delivery. Ottniel Baartman gifted the Titans a further lifeline when he bowled a no-ball that flew past the keeper to the boundary for four.

    But, the fast-bowler responded by restricting Klaasen on the free-hit, who only managed a single. It left Lizaad Williams with eight to get from the final two balls. Baartman kept his cool and delivered two dot balls that secured the win for the Dolphins.

    The victory means the Warriors qualify for Saturday’s playoff match, where they will take on the Lions for a place in the final against the Dolphins.

    Full scorecard 

    Post by

    Andre Huisamen