• Caribbean to host Proteas in June

    The Caribbean will play host to South Africa and Australia in a three-nation ODI tournament in June next year.

    West Indies will face down with reigning world champions Australia and current World No 3 South Africa in a 10-match tournament over a three-week period from 6-26 June.

    ‘This tournament promises to be very exciting with two of the World’s top teams coming to the Caribbean,’ said Roland Holder, the WICB Manager, Cricket Operations.

    It will provide a golden opportunity for our team to test themselves against two of the best sides in the World in the ODI format.’

    The tournament opens with round-robin matches at the Guyana National Stadium before the teams travel to Basseterre in St Kitts for another series of matches at Warner Park, with the series moving to the Barbados capital of Bridgetown for the final round of matches at Kensington Oval, culminating with the final.

    ‘Australia won the Cricket World Cup on home soil and South Africa are highly ranked in this format, but are also the No 1 side in Tests,’ said Holder. ‘These two sides have shared some fascinating rivalries not only in the ODI, but other formats of the international game in recent years.’

    June 6: Australia vs South Africa – Guyana National Stadium, Guyana
    8: West Indies vs South Africa – Guyana National Stadium
    10: West Indies vs Australia – Guyana National Stadium
    13: South Africa vs Australia – Warner Park, St Kitts
    15: West Indies vs South Africa – Warner Park
    17: West Indies vs Australia – Warner Park
    20: Australia vs South Africa – Kensington Oval, Barbados
    22: West Indies vs South Africa – Kensington Oval
    24: West Indies vs Australia – Kensington Oval
    26: The final – Kensington Oval

    Post by