• Moreki returns for Cape Cobras

    Batsman Isma-eel Gafieldien and fast bowler Ziyaad Abrahams, have been rewarded with Cape Cobras franchise contracts after impressive seasons for Boland in both the CSA 3 Day Provincial and 1 Day Competitions.

    Gafieldien finished the tournament with 712 runs, at an average of 54.76, including 3 centuries and 2 half centuries, whilst Abrahams took 17 wickets at an average of 24.17 in 6 three day matches and 10 wickets at an average of 13.70 in four 1 Day matches.

    READ: Smith deserves four years to prove himself

    There is also a first professional contract for SA U19 batsman Jonathan Bird who impressed during last season’s One Day Cup after being called-up to the side when Janneman Malan and Kyle Verreynne were away on Proteas duty, scoring 167 runs in 5 matches, including his maiden half century for the franchise.

    There is a return to the Cape Cobras for fast bowler Tshepo Moreki who impressed for the Titans last season, whilst there will be a huge Cape Town welcome for all-rounders Corbin Bosch (from Titans), Onke Nyaku (from Warriors) and Calvin Savage (from Dolphins). All three players will offer Prince enormous amount in all facets of the game.

    Spinner Imraan Manack joins the franchise after having enjoyed a fruitful One Day Cup for the Titans last season, ending the tournament as their top wicket-taker with 13 wickets and he will be out to plug the gap left by Dane Piedt who will be furthering his cricket career in the USA. Former Titans batsman left-hand batsman Tony de Zorzi, joins the squad.

    ‘We’re absolutely delighted with our work during what is now becoming more and more like a football transfer window. We have been a very competitive squad in 4 day cricket over the last 3 years but no so much in white-ball cricket. I believe all the new signings will bolster our squad, especially in the shorter formats and give us a more competitive squad for all the formats,’ said head coach Ashwell Prince.

    Prince also paid tribute a number of stalwarts who have left the franchise from a playing point of view.

    ‘I’d also like to pay tribute to Western Province and Cape Cobras stalwarts Vernon Philander, Rory Kleinveldt, Dane Piedt and Dane Paterson for their commitment and outstanding performances for the region over the years,’ he added.

    ‘I also want to wish the following players, Lizaad Williams, Matthew Kleinveldt, Ferisco Adams, Mthiwekhaya Nabe, Tladi Bokako, Simon Khomari and Thando Ntini all the best with their journeys that they have chosen.’

    Cape Cobras squad for 2020-2021 season: Ziyaad Abrahams, Jonathan Bird, Corbin Bosch, Nandre Burger, Tony de Zorzi, Isma-eel Gafieldien, Zubayr Hamza, George Linde, Pieter Malan, Janneman Malan, Imraan Manack, Aviwe Mgijima, Akhona Mnyyaka, Tshepo Moreki, Onke Nyaku, Calvin Savage, Jason Smith, Kyle Verreynne.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by