• Aussies, NZ go retro for ODI series

    Australia and New Zealand have rolled back the years by both producing spectacular retro kits for the upcoming ODI series, which gets under way on Friday.

    The Black Caps will cross the Tasman river for the first of three ODIs, starting in Sydney on Friday as they hope to salvage some pride from the Test series they lost in Australia in December and January.

    But, the two teams have certainly caused a lot of excitement among their fans, with both nations deciding to play the series in shirts inspired by the year 1999.

    READ: Four Indian players out to prove a point

    It holds especially high significance for the Australians as they won the World Cup in England that year donning the famous shirt.

    It pays tribute to a time when Australian cricket – with players such as Steve Waugh, Michael Bevan and Shane Warne – began their dominance of world cricket.

    The hosts will hope to get back to winning ways after slumping to a 3-0 series defeat in South Africa over the past weekend.

    New Zealand, on the other hand, will be riding high on their ODI series whitewash of India at the beginning of February.

    ALSO READ: Markram pushing the reset button

    Play starts at 5:30am (SA time) on Friday morning. They will clash again at the SCG on Sunday before heading to Hobart for the final ODI next Friday.


    Australia: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (v-c), Pat Cummins (v-c), Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Jhye Richardson (SA series only), Kane Richardson, D’Arcy Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

    New Zealand: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by