• 2019 MSL: Six key retentions

    The players retained for the 2019 Mzansi Super League have been announced. Each of the six franchises have made a particularly key retention.

    Stars’ Olivier

    • The Jozi Stars have kept Duanne Olivier. The fast bowler was the inaugural tournament’s leading wicket-taker. He will return as a Kolpak player, of course, having joined Yorkshire in English county cricket in the interim.

    Blitz’s Steyn

    • The Cape Town Blitz will have Dale Steyn again. This time, he won’t be encumbered by Test-cricket limitations, after announcing partial retirement. Importantly, he’ll be bowling alongside Anrich Nortje again.

    Heat’s Miller

    • The Durban Heat have retained David Miller. He was named Cricket South Africa’s T20I Player of the Year recently and will be integral in this format for the Heat. They’re going to need Miller’s wicketkeeping ability in the absence of Morne van Wyk and Heinrich Klaasen, too.

    Giants’ Morris

    • Seamer Chris Morris proved most doubters wrong by being the Proteas’ leading wicket-taker at the 2019 World Cup, despite not being selected for the initial squad. The Giants have not kept Christiaan Jonker or Rudi Second, leaving Morris’ role with the bat important as well.

    Spartans’ Sipamla

    • The Tshwane Spartans, like the Blitz, retained the fewest players. Among the four is Lutho Sipamla, who will benefit from the ongoing tutelage of fellow fast bowler Lungi Ngidi. AB de Villiers’ public backing effectively kickstarted Sipamla’s international career.

    Rocks’ Mosehle

    • The Paarl Rocks have acknowledged the importance of a solid wicketkeeper-batsman by keeping Mangaliso Mosehle, who isn’t even a franchise player anymore after being contracted at provincial level by KwaZulu-Natal.

    Photo: Gallo Images

    Post by