• 2004-2018: SA’s ICC Test XI presence

    Fast bowler Kagiso Rabada was South Africa’s lone representative in the International Cricket Council’s Test Team of the Year, announced earlier this week.

    • The inaugural ICC Test Team of the Year, in 2004, hosted two Proteas – batsmen Herschelle Gibbs and Jacques Kallis.
    • Kallis was joined by opener Graeme Smith in 2005‘s second edition.
    • Fast bowler Makhaya Ntini was South Africa’s only player in the XI in 2006 and 2007.
    • Smith and Kallis returned in 2008 – and were joined by fast bowler Dale Steyn.
    • Batsman AB de Villiers made a maiden appearance in 2009, while Steyn welcomed a second time.
    • Batsman Hashim Amla accompanied Kallis, De Villiers and Steyn in 2010 as the Proteas cherished four-way representation for the first time.
    • The same four appeared in 2011.
    • De Villiers was omitted from the XI for 2012, while all-rounder Vernon Philander was selected. De Villiers, though, was named 12th man.
    • De Villiers effectively replaced Kallis, while Amla, Philander and Steyn were retained in 2013.
    • Steyn and De Villiers were the only representatives in 2014 as the Proteas failed to have four players in the XI for the first time in five years.
    • The first year South Africa went without even a single representative was 2015.
    • Steyn was the only South African in 2016.
    • Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock, opener Dean Elgar and fast bowler Kagiso Rabada were selected for the XI in 2017.
    • Rabada relished a second selection in 2018.

    Photo: Gallo

    Post by