Controversial moments at CWC 2015

March 16, 2015
Chris Jordan being run-out...or was he?

SACricketmag.com takes a look at the most controversial moments of the 2015 World Cup.

The group stages of the 2015 World Cup produced several controversial incidents – including Australian fielder Pat Cummins’ ‘grassed’ catch against New Zealand, Afghanistan spinner Samiullah Shenwari’s removal from the bowling attack against Bangladesh and Scotland’s decision to send the ill-disciplined Majid Haq home early – but three affairs were particularly disputable…

Chris Jordan run-out – England v Bangladesh, Adelaide, 10 March
Jordan was run out at the non-striker’s end for a first-ball duck, which marked the beginning of the end for England, who eventually suffered an embarrassing defeat to the minnows – and a humiliating early World Cup exit. Their campaign, although very inadequate, would have lasted longer – had third umpire Simon Fry afforded the batsman the benefit of the doubt. The naked eye, nor plenty of frame-by-frame television replays, couldn’t genuinely detect space between the blade and pitch. You be the judge…

SACricketmag.com verdict: If ever there was the opportunity to challenge the letter of the law, this was it. Jordan made his ground successfully enough. The incorrect decision was made.

John Mooney catch – Ireland v Zimbabwe, Hobart, 7 March
Sean Williams was en route to a fine century, which would probably rule Ireland out of the World Cup and keep Zimbabwe in contention. He holed out on the midwicket fence late in the piece, though, as Mooney held onto a great catch. There was, however, some doubt about the positioning of the fielder’s left foot. Perhaps it touched the boundary rope. The batsman was ultimately ruled out and the Zimbabwe Herald and Cricket Ireland have since engaged in a veritable war of words over the incident…

SACricketmag.com verdict: Mooney’s foot didn’t touch the boundary. Even if it did, the subsequent backlash is entirely unwarranted. The correct decision was made.

James Taylor dead ball – Australia v England, Melbourne, 14 February
Cricket is a game of small margins, but whether or not umpire Aleem Dar’s finger was raised before James Anderson was run out will remain a bone of contention. Either way, the visibly aggrieved Taylor was ostensibly robbed of a maiden ODI century by a poor interpretation of the law, which demanded the delivery be deemed ‘dead’ the moment the batsman was adjudged out leg before wicket – use of the Decision Review System or not…

Video footage of the incident have since been removed from Youtube due to copyright reasons, but here you can still see how it all unfolded.

SACricketmag.com verdict: The International Cricket Council eventually apologised for the mistake on Dar’s behalf. The old adage, though, reveals ‘sorry is not a plaster’, so Taylor’s hurt is vindicated.



You may also like